Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
McReynolds | Vardanyan LLP Honest. Dependable. Compassionate.
  • Free Initial Consultation available 24/7
  • ~
  • We speak Spanish & Armenian

What are the penalties for unlicensed commercial cannabis activity?

While California has legalized the adult use and sale of cannabis for recreation, distribution is limited to licensed entities.  Unlawful sale or transport of marijuana is generally a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in county jail and a fine of up to $500.

Unlawful sale may be a felony, punishable by up to four years’ imprisonment, under the following circumstances:

  • The defendant has a prior conviction for certain violent or sexual crimes
  • The defendant has two or more prior convictions for unlawful marijuana sales
  • The defendant knowingly sold marijuana to a minor
  • The defendant imported/exported or attempted to import/export into or out of California for sale more than 28.5 grams of marijuana or more than four grams of concentrated cannabis

Return to FAQs

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation